Wow…I can’t believe it’s been over a month since the last post. Lots of stuff to share but I’ll try and stick to some highlights and get some pictures posted.

Ripken

What a cute little boy we have! We’ve started giving Ripken responsibilities and that has been going really well. Right now his biggest responsibility is to take his plate to the kitchen after he has eaten. We had started out with him feeding the dog but that seemed to have been too much. The plat thing is working out much better. the next responsibility will be to be in charge of taking his blanket (a.k.a. night night) to school in the mornings. I have a feeling it will take a couple of times for him to remember which could be tough at nap time, but I think he’ll learn quickly not to forget night night.

We have also taken to setting the timer to let Rip know when it’s time for something (i.e. time for bath, time to go to school, etc…). We will usually give Rip a heads up that the timer is getting set. For example we might say “Rip, 20 minutes until bath time.” Lately his response is: “No, I want 5 minutes!” I guess he doesn’t quite understand the concept of time 🙂

Another fun one…at breakfast the other morning, Kirk told Rip to move his glass back from the edge of the table and Rip replied “Yes sir!”

Rip took his first gymnastics class. It lasted 4 weeks. I don’t think he was quite ready for that. Rip definitely needs time to adjust to new environments. The first class Rip watched everyone while Mommy did all the activities (in an attempt to get Rip to join in…not because she wanted to 😉 By the last class Rip would do the warm up activities and some of the non-structured activities. But anything where it had people watching him, Rip would run away. Oh well, we’re going to try T-ball next.

Rip now goes with me to the gym at night. There’s child care/playroom for the kids and he goes there while I get a work out in. Daddy stays home with Riley. Everyone is happy!

Riley

2 month check up stats: 12 lbs 8 oz and 24 inches long. That appointment was a month ago so the numbers are a little outdated.

Sleeping through the night. This is my favorite part! She goes to sleep sometime between 9 and 10pm and sleeps to anytime between 6:30 – 8:30 am. Mostly she sleeps til 7:30 so this allows me to get up at 6am (feeling completely rested) and get my yoga workout in, shower, get Rip up and eat breakfast. I feel so accomplished by 7:30!

Talker. Oh my gosh this girl is cooing/gurgling all the time! Mommy and Riley have quite the spirited conversations throughout the day.

Riley is getting very close to rolling over from her back to her front. I’d say within the next few weeks she should have her first rollover under her belt.

Carphobia. I think we have moved past the screaming in the car phase. Last week we went a round trip without any screaming/crying or fuss of any sort. And this was a big trip of 15 miles each way! Things have gone well since then too so I’m hoping we’ve turned a corner.

Day care. Riley will be starting day care next Monday (3/10). We’re a little bit nervous about this as Riley still won’t take a bottle for us. Ripken and I left Daddy and Riley alone a couple Saturday’s ago in an effort to get Riley to eat from a bottle. Unfortunately it was 8 hours of screaming for Daddy and she only took 2 ounces from the bottle. I’m hoping the day care folks have better luck. If not, I’ll have to drive up to the day care every few hours to feed her…not exactly what I was planning on. Oh well, we’ll see what happens!

Ok, I think that’s about it for now. Enjoy the pics and we’ll try and post again soon!













