Oh my goodness! THe other day the kids were playing outside on the deck…Ripken cutting paper, Riley crawling everywhere. I was inside cooking dinner and would every so often poke my head out the door to make sure all was good. One time I looked out there and Ripken put on his guilty face. I left it alone thinking it must not be too bad because I didn’t see blood and there wasn’t any screaming. A short while later I actually walk outside to play for a few minutes and Rip came up to me to let me know that he cut Riley’s hair “just a little bit.” Sure enough, Riley’s pony tail was a little shorter now. So Rip and I talk about how scissors are for paper, not hair. Rip promises to never do that again. Mommy promises to take away the scissors if he does it again.

Fast forward 2 days. Mommy is doing a little email while the kiddos are playing. Lots of laughing, fun sounds coming from the other room so I’m not concerned. After a few minutes I go to check on everyone. Rip has a guilty look on his face and immediately hides his scissors behind his back. I go get Riley and sure enough, the pony tail is ALMOST GONE!!! As promised, Mommy takes away the scissors. Imagine lots of crying/screaming/general unhappiness on Rip’s part.

Oh, and as I’m putting Riley down for her nap, I also discovered that Rip had put a little blue marker on Riley’s head…