Ok, so the biggest update we have has to do with Riley. Earlier this week Riley, Ripken and I went to go have our eyes checked. For Ripken and I this was a regular check up. For Riley, this was her first check up to determine if she inherited Mommy’s or Daddy’s eyes. Because Rip has perfect eye sight, I assumed the same would be for Riley. Unfortunately, I was wrong. Little Riley Bear inherited her Daddy’s bad eye sight. She has a fairly significant astimatism in both her eyes. Sometime next week Riley will be getting her first pair of glasses. Pictures will most definitely follow!

The other day Ripken’s friend Connor came over to play. Within a few minutes of playing together Connor told Ripken he wasn’t his friend…Ripken replied with a hit to the chest. Daddy took Ripken out of the room. Ripken started crying. Daddy told Ripken he need to apologize to Connor. Riken, through his tears, said VERY empahtically “No Daddy! Connor needs to apologize to ME!”

Riley is getting closer to walking every day. She loves to cruise all over the house and walk using her push toys. When we take her out into the cul-de-sac, she will play with her push toy for 20 minutes none stop. I’m wondering if the glasses are going to help her progress with the walking.

So we have been on a break from eating out at restaurants until Ripken can sit at the dinner table without getting up, playing with toys, use generally good table manners. Ripken has to go 5 days in a row exhibiting the wanted behavior before we will try eating out again. Since I don’t want to cook on Fridays we have been getting take out and bringing it home. Last Friday I picked up the kids from school and headed to Chick-fil-a drive thru to bring food home. When we got to the restaurant, Ripken said, “Mommy, I thought we were starting back at zero”. I chuckled and told him that was correct we were just going through the drive thru to bring food home. Then Ripken saw the indoor playscape at the restaurant and said “Mommy! I love that play thing!” I was hoping that the sight of the restaurant and playscape was going to get Rip all fired up and want to have good table manners so we could eat out again. Unfortunately, Rip is just as tenacious and stubborn as his parents so we will continue to do take out on Fridays…

The other day at breakfast, Ripken was playing with his toy cell phone, doing lots of pretend calls/conversatons. Then, completely out of the blue he says…”Daddy, when do I get to get a real cell phone?” Kirk & I just about lost it!

