Well, I’m a little surprised at how fast the time has slipped away from me…as evidenced by the month long lapse in posts. Regardless, a lot has happened over the past month so here are some updates:

Christmas

We had a spectacular Christmas day. Both the kids had fun either opening gifts, playing with new toys or just enjoying the change in routine. Unfortunately for this blog, we didn’t take a single picture on Christmas day. We did do lots of filming but we don’t have anything prepped to share via the blog so…you will just have to take my word for how much fun everyone had 🙂

New Years

We went over to our friends’ Jeanne & Dave Kramer’s house where they hosted a small kid friendly new years celebration. We chowed on some chili (pizza for the kids), consumed some adult beverages and then brought the new year in with a fabulous balloon drop, confetti and sparklers. The kid friendly part of the party was the timing of celebrating the new year….the balloon drop took place around 7pm eastern. Several hours before the actual stroke of midnight but entertaining none the less. We were home with Riley in bed by 8:30 p.m. Rip was allowed to stay up and watch a movie. I was in charge of putting him to bed that night and he was none too excited about going to sleep. He did finally crash around 11:30 p.m. Kirk and I turned the lights out at 11:55…but not before getting a glimpse of Dick Clark. In my humble opinion, it’s time for Dick to retire. Oh, similar to Christmas we have no pictures to document the holiday (what is up with that??).

Trip to Michigan

Cold. Cold. Cold. Did I mention it was cold?? Ok, I shouldn’t complain about the mid 20’s as the day after we left it hit -16!!! That’s crazy! Anyhow, the trip was good. It snowed almost every day covering everything in beautiful white snow. Both kids got to play in the snow and go sledding. And I have to give a shout out to my cousin Jennifer who graciously lent us her daughter’s winter clothing so we didn’t have to invest in snow gear for Riley.

Other than snow, we celebrated several b-day’s (Kirk, Jake, Missy); rocked out with Rock Band (even managed to get Jeff to play despite his vow to never play. Did I mention we had to kick him off and let the kids play?); Riley got hooked on make-up (Mimi is so excited!); lots of general spoiling of the kids. Check out some of the pictures in the sidebar slideshow.

Kirk gets a GPS

I finally managed to buy a gadget that Kirk likes! He got a car GPS for his birthday and has been grinning from ear to ear for the past 2 weeks. For me, the funniest part is with Rip. He likes to hold the GPS when we’re driving and tell us to ‘stay on the pink road’ ‘gotta turn left in a little bit’ ‘we stopped!’ It’s too fun to see Ripken turning into a gadget boy just like his daddy.

Well, there’s probably a ton of fun stuff I’m missing, but I can’t recall any more right now. More to come later!

