Ok, so I have to admit – I had some reservations this morning when Kristin left for her her long run at 7am.    I knew that it would be interesting to see Rip’s initial reaction to do nothing say nothing.  Fortunately he decided to sleep in until about 8:30, and he was in a good mood when he finally woke up.   Until he was ready for breakfast…

When he announced that he wanted breakfast, I gently reminded him that this week mommy and daddy were going to learn what he could do and couldn’t do, and that he was welcome to get his own breakfast today.   That didn’t go over very well at all.  First came the whining – “I want you to get my breakfast”…then when that didn’t work, he switched to anger – “You’re a meanie!  I don’t like you!  You’re not my friend!”  Ok, time to remove myself from the situation and go to another room.   So this went on for about 15 minutes or so, at which point I let Ripken know that we weren’t going to tell him what to do this week – which meant he could eat anything he wanted.  This seemed to resonate, and he immediately headed off for the kitchen.  After a few minutes, my curiosity got the better of me, so I peeked into the kitchen to see what was happening.  Rip had the step stool out and was busy searching through the cabinets, and eventually decided to have one of his vitamins.

His mood now much better, we went out back to practice hitting golf balls off the tee.   After about 20 minutes, Rip told me he was going in to get some Cheerios.  I told him that was a great idea, and proceeded to watch him – in a state somewhere between shock and amazement –  get the cereal bag down, get a bowl, get the kid-friendly milk jar out of the refrigerator, pour the milk into his bowl, and start eating.

Wow.  Ok, this is obviously going to be easier than I thought… 🙂

