Backpack updates:  well, Rip did manage to get his backpack into the car today.  He did forget to get it out of the car when we got to school.  And I did a mini-save…I couldn’t help myself!  As we were walking up to school, I commented on a couple of backpacks other kids were wearing.  Rip did a ‘Whoops!  My backpack!” and dashed back to the car to retrieve the backpack.  Of course the backpack is still sitting in the car now as it never made it out of the car.  Oh, and last time I saw his lunchbox it was sitting on the picnic table outside his classroom.  Wonder if it will be there in the morning…

Our afternoon was pretty uneventful.  Ripken, Riley and I went to the playground for a while and had a fabulous time.  At home the kids entertained themselves before and after dinner.  Speaking of dinner, Rip’s dishes are really starting to pile up on the dining room table.  There’s a couple of plates, several cups and some utensils.  I did place tonight’s dinner plate on top of last night’s plate.  That didn’t seem to phase him.  I have had to do a couple of “I noticed the milk is sitting outside the fridge” because I’m not willing to have the milk spoil.  I do think I may be digging myself a hole with this because it’s turning into a reminder tactic.  Have to brainstorm with Kirk tonight on that one.

Rip did elect to have books read to him tonight…and he chose this over an episode of Arthur (our normal pre-bedtime show).   He still isn’t wearing pull-ups to bed and there isn’t any bedding on his bed.  I did end up putting pull ups on him last night and will do so again tonight until I figure something else out.

Meanwhile, here a couple of pretty scary pictures showing the state of our house.  We fully expect that the mess will be cleared on day 8 and that in just a couple short weeks messes like this (or even less) will be a thing of the past.  Hoping this doesn’t scare Mimi & Bumpa away from their visit here at the end of the month!!

Kitchen Floor

Kitchen Floor

Playroom

Playroom

Dining Room

Dining Room

Ripken's Bedroom

Ripken's Bedroom

