My parents arrived for a visit yesterday and it’s the first visitors we’ve had since we kicked off Parenting On Track.

The challenge with having the grandparents around is finding a balance.  A balance between what?  A balance between keeping to our “don’t do for a child what they can do for themselves” and allowing the grandparents to spoil the grandkids like they and the grandkids love.

I do have to say that things are going better than I expected:

I expected Ripken to put up massive resistance to going to school.  Instead, Ripken enjoyed showing Gumpa (a.k.a. grandpa) how to put his backpack in the car in preparation of going to school.

I expected Ripken to show off how he can get his own breakfast.  Instead, Ripken had a minor fit because he wanted Gumpa to get him breakfast.

I expected RIpken to want Mimi or Gumpa to read him books before bedtime.  Instead, he has requested me.

I expected Riley to be very shy with Mimi and Gumpa.  Instead she warmed up to both within half an hour.

All this reminds me that I need to have more faith in my kids.  They are pretty incredible and are so much more capable than we have ever given them credit for!

