First, I have to say that the coolest thing about Parenting On Track is that the program is at our finger tips 24/7.  Life happens and, at times, it is very difficult to get everything done.  That’s my excuse for having taken so long to move from Timeline for Training (week 3) to Mistaken Behavior (week 4).  And Kirk and I still have not actually sat down to go through week 4 video together.  Too much going on right now so we’ve each taken the audio for Mistaken Behavior and listened/studied on our own.

Ok, basically our kids behavior falls into 4 general categories:  Attention, Power, Revenge and Avoidance.  As you move through the behaviors, each gets increasingly more serious.  I’m happy to report that lately with both Ripken and Riley we tend to hover in the Attention behavior. That being said, we have definitely seen lots of Power behavior from both kids and, I’m sad to say, Ripken has spent quite a bit of time showing us Revenge in the past.  Actually, I’m pretty sure I saw some Revenge while Mimi and Bumpa were visiting…thankfully it was short lived.

Anyhow, Ripken is the king of Attention children.  He loves to keep both Kirk & I busy, busy, busy!  It’s always, ‘Watch me! Play with me! Look at me!”  I’m so grateful that we aren’t down in the Revenge or Avoidance area, but man is this attention stuff exhausting!

Riley, I’m still working on her behaviors.  She definitely has the attention moments but hers are crying fits (yes these are, for the most part, fake crys).  Oh man, does that crying wear me down!  And Riley definitely isn’t as much of an attention child as Rip.  She’s probably a little bit more in the Power behavior right now.  Especially when I’m trying to get her to participate in something like, taking the dishes to the sink, or picking up toys.  She loves to say ‘No!’  As angry as it gets me, she’s awfully cute when she says it!

Other updates:

Rip volunteered to help me empty the dishwasher today!!  Love the participation!

Riley is totally getting the hang of getting herself dressed.  She prefers to put her shirt on her bottom half, but we’re working on that.

Rip:  did manage to do some laundry this past weekend but has elected to not put any clean clothes away.  His room is pretty disastrous.  Hoping we can get it cleaned up before Nanny Joan gets here!

Rip, Riley Mommy:  all had lots of fun making scrambled eggs together this morning!  Wished I had thought to video it because it was quite an enjoyable time.

