Zen Parenting

I am so happy to report that I managed to get through the morning routine without going into the rabbit hole.  No yelling, no getting tense, just kept moving – even though my lovely son was not moving forward.

I’m not sure how I finally found this pleasantly peaceful place, especially since I had minimal sleep with my 3 year old daughter sawing some serious logs all night long, but I found it and I don’t ever want to leave.

The morning started out with a thought that I was going to have radical faith in my son that he could get up and get ready for school.  I seriously kept chanting in my head “he can do it, I know he can.”  Nothing but positive thoughts flowing through the brain this morning.

Rip didn’t get ready.  As a matter of fact he didn’t even get out of bed until 5 minutes before it was time to leave.  He started going down a path of whiny, crying about breakfast.  I remained firm and kind.  Offered up a couple of options (fruit bar or fiber bar), put his clothes in the car, and walked Rip to the car.  Ride to school was pleasant.  Rip got dressed in the car outside of school (no that did not phase him).  And it wasn’t until I was kissing him goodbye that he asked about his ‘stuff’.  I asked if he brought his snack/lunch/backpack, he replied no and with minimal sadness, but more importantly, he didn’t freak out!  I told him I’d be happy to bring him a sandwich when I picked him up and he seemed OK with that.  And then I left for home/work.

I am so excited that even though the morning did not go as I hoped, it went smoothly and without any yelling or tears.  Ahhh, feels so good!

 

